Power is sold en bloc to the cities of Saint John, Moncton and Fredericton and to the town of Sussex, supplying 17,400 customers in these communities. Power is also distributed directly by the Commission to villages and rural districts, serving directly 5,250 customers. The high-voltage line mileage is 307 and 695 miles of distributing lines are in operation.

The Commission has under construction an addition to the Grand Lake plant which will increase the generating capacity by 8,000 h.p. There are also under construction rural distribution lines totalling 100 miles in length which will add 400 customers.

The Commission has a plant investment of \$6,800,000, and an annual revenue of \$825,000.

Manitoba.—The formation of the Manitoba Power Commission was authorized by the passage of the Electrical Power Transmission Act of 1919 (c. 30, also c. 61, Consolidated Amendments, 1924) which authorizes the Commission to make provision for generating electrical energy, to enter into contracts for the purchase of power in bulk from generating agencies, and for its transmission and sale to municipalities, corporations and individuals. In 1929 legislation was passed whereby the Government undertook to pay interest charges and sinking fund charges on an amount not exceeding 50 p.c. of the capital cost of the construction and erection of equipment required for the generation and transmission of electrical power or energy to municipalities, farms and other customers.

The Commission has built and is now operating an extensive transmission system under authority of the above Act, supplying electrical power to many thousands of customers throughout Manitoba. This power is purchased under the Seven Sisters power contract from the Northwestern Power Co. and transmitted over high-tension steel-tower lines to Portage la Prairie, Brandon and Morden. From this main system power is transmitted to the territory south of the Winnipeg-Brandon main line as far as the International Boundary.

A branch system serving the territory along the western boundary of the province, including the towns and villages of Reston, Pipestone, Melita, Napinka, Elkhorn, Miniota, Crandall and Arrow River, has been constructed and is operated by the Commission. This system which, until August, 1931, was supplied with power generated by the Commission's plant at Virden, is now tied into the main system and supplied with power generated at Seven Sisters.

Under the authority granted by the Electrical Power Transmission Act of 1919, the Commission has made purchases of municipally-owned plants—notably at Birtle and Brandon—or entered into contracts for the supply of power by municipally-owned plants—as at Dauphin—or by the Winnipeg Electric Co., whereby power is supplied to outlying districts. This phase of the Commission's activities has shown steady growth.

The Commission owns and operates the central steam-heating system at Brandon, supplying heat to the business, and part of the residential, section of the city. The Commission also owns and operates the gas plant supplying gas to commercial and residential customers. It is the intention of the Commission to supply